Reflex Love

Spatial drawing, dimensions variable
rubberbands, walldrawing
Bo Bjerggaard gallery, Copenhagen

Reflex and love are two terms that are, in fact, contradictory. A reflex is a process that occurs so quickly and automatically, that we are hardly aware of its occurrence, since our brain is not usually involved.
What actually occurs psychologically in peoples’ minds remains scientifically controversial. Love, for example, is a complex human emotion, and it is difficult, if not impossible, to decipher it. But love also has a cognitive aspect: the aim of finding a person whom we perceive as corresponding to our desires.
Love, as a system of thinking and experiencing, is always unique. At the same time, it is a universal cliché. Love is tied to both an individual, and to social conventions.
In my installation “Reflex Love”, phrases, claims, and responses are articulated in the space and, literally, interwoven. A conversation is spun between two anonymous figures, who are classically distinguished by the colors red and blue as female and male.
Two different patterns of behavior and thought – each bound to a representative person – meet and seek verbal and emotional exchange.
With the red-blue color scheme, I also make reference to Carl Gustav Jung’s anima/animus duality. Instead of making clear distinctions between the sexes, his interpretation focuses on personality traits that transcend gender. Anima stands for more suppressed, so-called “female” behavior, such as empathy, adaptation, the ability to engage in interpersonal relationships and more easily access one’s own emotions and body. Animus, on the other hand, symbolizes more suppressed, so-called “male” traits, such as aggression, libido, the courage and appetite to take risks, and individual initiative.
The spatial drawing “Reflex Love” thus interweaves and synthesizes emotion and control, intuition and reasoning.

Reflex Love

2016
Raumzeichnung, Maße variabel
Gummibänder Wandzeichnung
Galerie Bo Bjerggaard, Kopenhagen

Reflex und Love sind zwei Begriffe, die sich eigentlich widersprechen. Ein Reflex als Prozess läuft so schnell und automatisch ab, dass wir uns diesem Ablauf kaum bewusst werden können. Denn meist ist unser Gehirn auch gar nicht involviert.
Was psychologisch im Kopf eines Menschen abläuft, bleibt wissenschaftlich umstritten. Liebe beispielsweise ist eine komplexe menschliche Empfindung, und es ist schwer, wenn nicht gar unmöglich, sie zu entwirren. Doch zur Liebe gehört auch ein kognitiver Aspekt, etwa eine Person zu finden, die wir als eine wahrnehmen, die unseren Wünschen entspricht.
Liebe als ein Denk- und Erfahrungssystem ist immer einzigartig und zugleich ein universelles Klischee, gebunden an eine Persönlichkeit und an soziale Konventionen.
In der Installation werden Sätze, Behauptungen und Erwiderungen „in den Raum gestellt“: Zwei anonyme Personen, durch die Farben rot und blau klassischerweise als weiblich und männlich unterschieden sind, entspinnen ein Gespräch.
Es treffen zwei unterschiedliche Verhaltens- und Denkmuster – jeweils gebunden an eine stellvertretende Person – aufeinander und suchen einen verbalen und emotionalen Austausch.
Mit der Rot-Blau-Farbgebung verweise ich aber auch auf die Anima/Animus-Dualität des Psychologen Carl Gustav Jungs, die nicht eine klare Geschlechterdifferenz in den Fokus rückt, sondern genderübergreifende Persönlichkeitsanteile: Anima symbolisiert unterdrückte, weibliche Handlungsweisen: Einfühlungsvermögen, Beziehungsfähigkeit, Zugang zum eigenen Körper und Gefühlen, Anpassungsfähigkeit. Animus hingegen symbolisiert unterdrückte, männliche Eigenschaften wie Aggression, Triebhaftigkeit, Mut, Risikobereitschaft, Eigeninitiative.
In der Raumzeichnung „Reflex Love“ vermischen und verbinden sich insofern Affekt und Kontrolle, Intuition und Argumentation.

BW