Im Inneren das Äußerste

January 2017 - March 2018
From the inside to the outermost
Installation in C/O Berlin

The Café at the Amerika Haus is an integral part of the spatial concept developed by C/O Berlin for its exhibition center. With an entrance foyer facing out onto Hardenbergstraße, it is a stage teeming with life, where visitors become both actors and spectators. Independent of its exhibitions of photography, C/O Berlin presents artistic works in the Café that enter into dialog with the unique spatial situation as art-in-architecture. Following the installations by Michail Pirgelis (2015) and Karsten Konrad (2016), Brigitte Waldach will be the third artist to continue this tradition, presenting her work “From the inside to the outermost” starting 18 February 2017.

Letters, writings, and word fragments cluster together to form elongated clouds and imaginary landscapes. Individual words are highlighted in red and connected by long red elastic bands that lead to a vanishing point at the end of the room. As “text within text”, signal words shine out, triggering personal associations in the viewer. Artist Brigitte Waldach’s work describes a general perception and individual appropriation of the world; it revolves around perspectives and interpretations of landscapes and people.

The installation, which Waldach developed specifically for the Café at C/O Berlin, accentuates and transcends the space itself, making it a kind of three-dimensional linguistic system. She quotes passages from Peter Handke’s story “The Afternoon of a Writer”, breaks the text up into fragments and in some cases reformulates it completely, creating a textual matrix on the walls of the café and its wall-to-wall windows. What we read tells of an interim period, a passage from (the author’s) private space into the city and beyond, from the center to the periphery, in short: a path from inner to outer.

Im Inneren das Äußerste

Januar 2017 - März 2018
Im Inneren das Äusserste
Installation im C/O Berlin

Das Café im Amerika Haus ist integraler Teil eines Raumkonzepts, das C/O Berlin für das Ausstellungshaus entwickeltet hat. Mit seinem zur Hardenbergstraße ausgerichteten Foyer ist es eine belebte Bühne, in der Gäste gleichzeitig zu Zuschauern und Akteuren werden. Unabhängig von Ausstellungen fotografischer Positionen präsentiert C/O Berlin im Café künstlerische Arbeiten, die als Kunst am Bau mit der speziellen Raumsituation in Dialog treten. Nach Installationen von Michail Pirgelis (2015) und Karsten Konrad (2016) wird Brigitte Waldach als dritte Künstlerin die Tradition fortsetzen und ab 18. Februar 2017 hier ihre Arbeit „Im Inneren das Äußerste“ zeigen.

Buchstaben, Schriften und Wortfragmente verdichten sich zu langgestrecken Wolken und imaginären Landschaften. Einzelne Worte werden durch rote Kennzeichnungen hervorgehoben und mit langen roten Gummibändern an einem Fluchtpunkt an der Stirnseite des Raumes zusammengeführt. Als Text im Text blitzen Signalworte hervor, die eigenen Assoziationen freien Lauf lassen. Die Künstlerin Brigitte Waldach beschreibt in ihrer Arbeit allgemeine Weltwahrnehmung und individuelle Aneignung; sie kreist um Perspektiven und Interpretationen von Landschaft und Menschen.

Ihre speziell für das Café von C/O Berlin entwickelte Installation akzentuiert und transzendiert den Raum in einer Art dreidimensionalem Sprachsystem. Textpassagen aus der Erzählung „Nachmittag eines Schriftstellers“ von Peter Handke werden zitiert, fragmentiert, teilweise neu formuliert – und bilden eine Textmatrix an den Wänden des Cafés und der gegenüberliegenden Fensterfront. Zu lesen ist von einer Zwischenzeit, einem Gang aus (s)einem Privatraum in die Stadt und darüber hinaus, von deren Zentrum zur Peripherie, kurzum: ein Weg von Innen nach Außen.